Error message

Please note: Our system will be undergoing maintenance March 13th at 8:00 AM EST through March 13th at 1:00 PM EST. During this time, member login and transaction-related services will be down.
If you have any questions, please contact Gianni Sanrocco, NADCA Membership Coordinator at membership@nadca.com. Thank you!

Certified Ventilation Inspector (CVI)

NADCA’s CVI certification was developed to recognize those industry professionals involved in the inspection of HVAC systems. Certified Ventilation Inspector (CVI) certified individuals are qualified to perform inspection of commercial HVAC systems.

The CVI certification enhances one’s professional development and is also a world‐wide credential recognizing a person’s knowledge and skills related to HVAC system hygiene and inspection. CVI Certification can benefit you professionally in many ways, including:

  • Increased compensation
  • Enhanced career mobility and marketability
  • Increased recognition to employers, customers and industry peers

The demand for HVAC system inspection is ever‐increasing. Having a CVI certified technician on staff can benefit your company in many ways:

  • Attracting more customers
  • Expanding your ability to offer inspection services

Prerequisites for Becoming CVI Certified

Important: In order to sit for the CVI Certification Exam an individual must hold an active Air Systems Cleaning Specialist (ASCS) certification.


Get Certified

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the benefits of CVI certification?

CVI certification enhances professional development and is also a designated worldwide credential recognizing a person’s knowledge and skills relating to inspection of commercial HVAC systems.

Is the individual or the business CVI certified?

NADCA's certification program certifies individuals, not companies. Certified individuals may use the credential in marketing their own expertise. Certification is not transferable to other individuals.

Any certified individual who changes companies must pay the administrative transfer fee and complete a Certification Transfer Form.

Who should become CVI certified?

Individuals seeking advanced certification and planning to engage in the inspection of commercial HVAC systems are encouraged to become CVI certified. An individual must hold an active Air Systems Cleaning Specialist (ASCS) certification in order to sit for the CVI exam. There is no limit to the number of company representatives who can become certified.

How was the CVI certification examination developed?

As is customary with credentialing practices, NADCA worked with independent test development experts and industry professional Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) engaged in the practice of HVAC system inspection to perform a job analysis for the CVI certification. The job analysis ensures the credential reflects the most current practices in the industry and properly reflects the knowledge, skills and abilities required for inspection of commercial HVAC systems.

Once I become certified, how do I renew my certification?

CVI certification is renewable every 3 years by June 30. Click here for more information on CVI certification renewal.